MCRPG: Chapter EX-C


EX-C: Home Tutor


Three days after the Himuro incident. With deep scars remaining in their hearts, the trio looked forward once more.
This was a little story that should have been just a detour after they each had made up their minds.

“Although it’s better than everyone being gloomy, please take care so as to not be too hyper. You understand, yes?”

“I’m so sorry…!”
“Sorry…”
“My apologies…”

As the awkward atmosphere caused by the Himuro Insurrection was resolved, the trio were in a good mood causing them to frolic around, resulting in all of them being raked over the coals by head maid Kurimu.

Perhaps the fact that Aria’s temporary room being situated right next to Kurimu’s work room so that she could rush to her if something happened backfired?

“But, well, it’s a relief to see you all being cheerful–or rather returning back to your old selves. I was a little worried about whether or not this child who left me would get along well with the two of you, but it seems that my worries were groundless.”

“You have no need to worry on that front, thanks Kurimu-nee♪”

(Let’s keep quiet about the fact that we were just one step away from a serious fight earlier…)

(Aria…even though it’s no use trying to hide anything from me. It seems like you’re incorrigibly lying to me, but it doesn’t seem to be about anything big so I shall graciously ignore it.)

(? I-I wonder why. Somehow I’m feeling a tingling sensation…?)

While Saris, Aria, and Kurimu were reading each other in a completely unproductive manner, Karuta just tilted her head in wonder.

“Oh yes, I didn’t come here just to lecture you. I almost forgot about it.”

“I also told Onii-sama this, but don’t push yourself too hard, Kurimu-nee.”

“Thank you, but I’m fine for now. This is just like normal, if only just a tad busier.”

(If that’s normal, then…Aria’s sister is amazing.)

“And so, about the matter, I’d like you to be home tutors.”

“””Home tutors??”””

“Yes. You know that I was originally born on the streets, yes?”

“Indeed, I remember when the previous king…when father found and adopted you.”

“At that time, I had a man who was like my childhood friend but he died of illness at a young age, leaving behind a son. His wife is also frail, and so I was asked by him if I could help take care of his child, mainly in terms of education.”

“So such a thing happened…”

The sentimental Karuta’s eyes were slightly moist.

“So you want us to be that child’s home tutors?”

“Indeed. Thanks to that trash, I haven’t been out for a while but I can’t be away from here for too long, so I was wondering if you could take over for me. Just once a week is fine.”

“If that’s the case, then please leave it to us. At most our reconstruction assistance is just helping out, and it’s not like there aren’t replacements for us. Should something happen, will the contact method be the same as before?”

“Thank you, that’s no problem. I’ve lightly summarised the child’s home and personal history in this document. It doesn’t matter if it’s just one or all three of you that tutors him. Well then, I’ll be entrusting the matter to you.”

After giving a graceful bow, Kurimu left the room quickly.

……

“Hirai Manoru-kun, soon-to-be 15 years old. His grades are above average I guess?”

“[He has a fairly straightforward personality, and although it’s a sensitive time for him, he listens to what I have to say.] …I’ll pray that this isn’t due to the fact that Kurimu-nee is scary.”

“Maybe because he lost his father when he was young and his mother is sickly, he wants to become strong to protect his family. However, whether it be martial arts or magic, the person himself doesn’t appear to have much attainments in those fields… It’s a cruel story.”

The three of them looked at the very easy-to-understand materials handed to them by Kurimu. There was a picture of an ordinary boy who could be found anywhere, with a somewhat cute atmosphere to him.

“As we have the investigation into the magic tools of the Lust Deity ahead of us, it really helps that we only have to do this about once a week. If we investigate and then recover or destroy the tools if lucky before then returning to the capital once to gather information again, we can use that time to see if we are available to tutor him.”

“I think that’s a good idea. She said she’ll leave the number of people up to us, but what should we do? Are we all going?”

“But if we’re coming back here to gather information, wouldn’t it be better for only one of us to be a tutor and for the other two to support the reconstruction?”

“That’s true as well. What should we do…?”

After pondering for a while, Karuta and the others decided on an answer.

➔【Someone goes by themselves as a tutor】

【All three members will look after him】


Author Note:
It’s a short one after a long time. I think it’s nice to have a normal daily life of fooling around and getting along as it emphasise the gap that comes from when they fall.


Leave a comment